July 21, 2016 / Member Resources

NCARB/AXP Resources

AIA Baltimore offers the Achieving Registration Together (ART) program to prepare applicants for the Architecture Registration Exam. During the spring and fall of the academic school years the ART program offers study classes taught by architects and engineers.  In addition to these classes there are many resources for Emerging Professionals to access to study for the ARE, register for the ARE and continue to develop their architectural careers.  Here are some helpful resources to assist you on your path to registration.

AXP overview

Architectural Experience Program (AXP), previously called Internship Development Program (IDP), is a series of architectural and building categories for candidates to record experience on their journey to becoming a licensed architect.  ­­The categories are made up of the 6 ARE 5.0 Divisions.

  1. Practice Management
  2. Project Management
  3. Programing & Analysis
  4. Project Planning & Design
  5. Project Development & Documentation
  6. Construction Evaluation

More information can be found on the NCARB website.

AXP gaining experience

The main way to gain AXP experience is in an office environment through your company.  Additional supplemental resources and classes can be found on the AIA National Website and are free for AIA associate members.   https://aiau.aia.org/courses/

ARE 4.0

The Architecture Registration Exam is the test applicants take to become registered architects.  The test is currently called ARE 4.0 but will soon be replaced by ARE 5.0.  During a transition period between the fall of 2016 to the summer of 2018, applicants will still be able to take the 4.0 test.
The current advantage to ARE 4.0 is that there are a lot of study materials including Kaplan, Ballast, and study classes that prepare applicants for the 4.0 Test.
AIA Baltimore has many of these study guides that they lend to applicants studying for the tests.
More information about the divisions and content on the ARE 4.0 can be found on the NCARB website.

ARE 5.0     

ARE 5.0 starts on November 1, 2016.  This is a revised organization of the same content on the previous ARE 4.0 divisions into the 6 ARE 5.0 divisions.  On this page there are diagrams that show how the ARE 4.0 transitions to ARE 5.0.


How do I find out if I have completed the educational requirements and experience requirements to take the Architecture Registration Exam?